I’ve Been Liebstered

Liebster Shenanigans….

liebster2So it appears that I’ve been nominated for the prestigious Liebster award, and I hereby accept! I wanna thank Starbucks, late nights alone in my cave, and the monster that currently resides within, inspiring me to bore the hypothetical masses with stories of my depression.

But seriously, I would like to thank the blogger that nominated me, Holland. I look forward to getting to know you and your writing.

 

So….

What is a Liebster Award?
The Liebster Award is awarded to bloggers with under 200 followers to try to promote their blog a little and also bring together a community of bloggers.
 The rules of the competition are as follows:
  • The nominated user must provide a link back to the person who nominated them.
  • Provide 11 facts about yourself.
  • Answer 11 questions set by the person who nominated you. 
  • Choose 11 more people and ask them 11 questions.
  • I would also add that you might want to check out the link I posted for “Liebster”.

For the record, I don’t actually know how to figure out if a blog has under 200 followers, so I used my best guess.

Okay. So here are my answers.

Who is your favorite musician?

radioheadNot sure why I always have difficulty answering these questions about favourites. It’s like I’m being put on the spot or something, only I’m not because a) I’ve been asked this question a million times before (each one resulting in a similar feeling of a deer caught in headlights) and b) because it’s not really on the spot is it? It’s not like I’m on stage with a hot, blindingly bright light on me, with a mob of crazily curious people demanding to know who my favourite band is.  Wow. Wouldn’t that be weird.

So let’s see. Can I narrow it down for myself? When I think “favourite” I tend to think of bands/songwriters that have stood the test of time. Who I have listened to and come back to again and again and again over the years. This narrows it down considerably, and when I do this, the first band that comes to mind is Radiohead (and then Garbage). I’ve been listening to Radiohead since its Pablo Honey days, which was 1993. I love that whole album, but probably my favourite song in the whole wide world is Creep. I’m aware that the band itself has expressed distaste for this hit, but I really don’t care. I love it. Like, a lot. And then there’s the beautiful Exit Music for a Film, and Fade Out and Fake Plastic Trees….

What is your greatest aspiration?

MaryPoppins - World Renowned Author

MaryPoppins – World Renowned Author

Once again, I’m not sure how to answer this. Why do I complicate things so? On the one hand, I want to say “published author”. On the other hand, I want to say “happy”. It seems like if I could aspire to be anything, the smartest thing to aspire to, (as someone who is chronically depressed), would be happiness. There would no shame whether I aspired to be a Walmart Greeter, or a rock star, as long as I was happy.

Okay, that sounds a little far-fetched. So I’m going to go with published author. There’s a whole lot that goes into that, and I think happiness is implied, because I believe (probably naively so) that if I were to succeed in this area, other good things would follow and some level of happiness would manifest. Right?

Who is your greatest inspiration?

Fictional:

Veronica Mars!

Veronica Mars!

Veronica Mars, because she is smart and brave and doesn’t care what people think—at least not enough to change for them.  She’s also very principled yet compassionate. Did I mention I’m a Marshmallow?

Celebrity:

Shirley Manson

Shirley Manson

Shirley Manson of Garbage. For pretty much all of the above reasons actually. She’s bold and not afraid to piss people off, but at the same time, she seems to be a very compassionate person. When I need a  boost, I often find myself singing to Garbage, and it usually works if only for a little while.

Real World: Aung San Suu Kyi. Because she truly is a light in the darkness. And once again, I see a pattern. She has some of the same qualities as Veronica Mars and Shirley Manson,

Aung San Suu Kyi

Aung San Suu Kyi

only a very different way of expressing herself. She is full of humility and yet so strong and principled.

Real Life:

"M"

“M”

My friend M, because no matter how much crap gets thrown at her, she always holds her head up high. She’s dedicated to self-improvement and understanding others. She, like everyone else I seem to look up to, tries to strike a balance between confidence and humility, and tries very hard to be fair and principled.

What is your favorite number?

download (1)

Are you an Apple or Android type of person?

Android? But I currently hate my phone so that might change.

Do you like to cook? If so, what?

I like to cook, but only on occasion. I may have mentioned that depression kind of colours every aspect of my life (or maybe turns it grey would be a more accurate analogy), but on those days when I either force myself to get creative in the kitchen or I’m having one of those cherished good days, I can get into it.

Green Olive Gnocchi Goodness

Green Olive Gnocchi Goodness

I usually like to use new recipes for inspiration and then improvise. One of my favourite dishes came from this recipe for Green Olive Gnocchi: (Wow. My mouth actually started watering when I saw the pictures. I’m such a Pavlov’s Dog.) But seriously. If you like olives, give this one a try. It is Delicious. Delectable. Divine.

Where do you consider home?

Home Sweet Home, where we do indeed play Scrabble

Home Sweet Home, where we do indeed play Scrabble

I think I will always consider the place I grew up as “home”. But my parents still live there, so that’ easy. I wonder how I would feel if they moved elsewhere?

Would I still consider my hometown “home”, or would it migrate with my parents?

What is your favorite post that you have created?

On this blog it would probably be the very first post called “A New Day“. I like it because it’s more creative than my other posts.

Why did you join WordPress, in particular?

I joined WordPress when I got sick of Blogger, to be honest. I already had experience using WordPress as my not-MaryPoppins-self, and so I knew that I liked it. It seems to be more user-friendly than blogger.

Do you think you could go a week without your phone?

You know, there was a time when I vowed I would never get a cell phone. I was that person. You know the one. The one who’s resistant to new technology and seems content to live in the dark ages? Eventually, a friend dragged me out from under my rock by giving me his old CrackBerry and that is how it all started…

When it was still a novelty for me I was kind of obsessed with it. Then there was the inevitable eye-rolling and bitter recriminations every time my attention would be diverted to that little screen. Thankfully that phase is long over, and I often forget my phone at home.

So, I think that yes, I could survive quite well without my phone for a week.

If you were on your deathbed, right now, what would your last words be?

253350003_dancing_skeleton_clipart_xlargeOh my, that’s morbid. (Says the girl obsessed with monsters). My last words would be….. “Are we there yet?”

 

 

 

 

11 facts about me, MaryPoppins

  1. I’m usually not that fond of talking about myself. In real life situations I tend to steer the conversation to be about the other person, which, in most cases, seems to suit them just fine.
  2. I recently tried out traditional Uechi-ryu Karate for a month and felt wildly out of place with all those black and brown belts. I’m still considering becoming a member.
  3. I can recite the beginning of the Beauty and the Beast Disney movie verbatim.
  4. I was 14 when I had my first inebriated experience. I was missing for most of the night, passed out in a forest in October without a coat. To this day, my parents have no idea.
  5. I took both Japanese and Spanish when I was in University. Found out first hand that if you don’t use it you lose it.
  6. I wrote my first “novel” in grade four, and it was about rainbows and sunshine and puppies. Just kidding. It was about monsters.
  7. I used to have a weird addiction to hair dryers. The sound of them and the feel of the hot air blowing on my skin was very soothing—some nights I couldn’t sleep without it. (Weird as this sounds, I eventually looked it up and found out I’m not the only one!)
  8. I once went to a Nickelback concert. I am ashamed. It was many, many years ago when they first came out. But shh…..          [Okay, hold up. Why am I using this damn list as a confessional?]
  9. My favourite book of all time is The Neverending Story by Michael Ende. I read it obsessively in elementary school, from Grades 3 to 7.  I so wanted to be Bastian Balthazar Bux and hide with a book in the attic of my school and be transported to Fantastica to become a hero who saves the day with her imagination.
  10. I almost choked to death in a hot dog eating contest when I was in grade 6. Never again.
  11. I love to sing; I find it therapeutic.

The 11 questions I came up with for the blogs I nominate

  1. At what age did you have your first alcoholic beverage and what were your reasons for doing so (or not)?
  2. What’s your favourite movie from childhood?
  3. Name something you’re embarrassed about from your past.
  4. If you had to listen to one song and one song only for the rest of your life, what would it be?
  5. Robert Downey Jr. or Benedict Cumberbatch?
  6. If you could make a meme of yourself, what would you be doing and what would the caption be?
  7. Have you ever been fired from a job (or walked out on one), and if yes, why?
  8. Are you at a place in your life where you feel like you’ve “found yourself”? Explain your answer.
  9. How do you relate to your favourite book or movie protagonist?
  10. Do you play a musical instrument? If so, what is it and if not, how come?
  11. Here’s an interesting lyric from a random song I’m listening to: “Be yourself but in disguise”. Explain what this means to you.

 

Whew! That was a lot of work and now I have a monstrously long post. I hope it wasn’t too tedious to read, and that my questions and confessions don’t freak you out 🙂

 

*random song was “Footsteps” by Finnebassen (Adriatique Remix)

 

Since I had some trouble finding 11 blogs that have under 200 followers and are worth the infamous Liebster Award, I’m going to start with just two amazing blogs that I read regularly, and will try to add more at a later date. I highly recommend checking them out!

Without further ado, here are my nominations:

Everything Was Beautiful and Nothing Hurt

Tia’s Book Musings

 

5 thoughts on “I’ve Been Liebstered

  1. Aaron says:

    Please update your tags to include “Nickelback Luvr”!

    Congratulations on your nomination! That was a nice post, I would love to see similar ones in the future. It is great to learn about the woman behind the curtain.

    • marypoppinz says:

      Ha! I will update my tags to include “Nickelback Luvr” if you pretend you were nominated and answer my 11 questions (since it’s unlikely anyone else will) 😉

  2. Aaron says:

    OH! Now that would totally be worth it. Consider that challenge accepted!

  3. Aaron says:

    1. At what age did you have your first alcoholic beverage and what were your reasons for doing so (or not)?
    I waited all the way to 21 (legal age for drinking in the US)… because I am a good boy. HA! But seriously, I just never had a desire to drink while growing up, and after 18 it became more of a personal challenge of “can I make it to 21?” I did (he said smugly).
    2. What’s your favourite movie from childhood?
    Neverending Story sticks out as one of the most loved. I WAS Atreu! (sp?) I longed to travel the world on horseback and save princesses. Monty Python and the Holy Grail was also well-remembered, especially the first time we watched it as a family. I was flabbergasted that adults would be so silly!
    3. Name something you’re embarrassed about from your past.
    I don’t talk about it much and usually deflect the conversation when it comes to this, but I am embarrassed to say I dropped out of a prestigious college that I had a full scholarship to on my Sophomore year. What an idiot! I was in a dark place (for me) and did not take things seriously like I should have. It is embarrassing because I can still recall feeling so proud that not only that school but two others offered me full rides, and I squandered it like a filthy squanderer. Don’t tell anyone, internet.
    4. If you had to listen to one song and one song only for the rest of your life, what would it be?
    There is this amazing recorder solo on Youtube… Okay, no really. I love love love the Haydn cello concerto in C, 3rd mvmt. Here’s a link so you can enjoy it as well! http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=R16-cgqM3ZM
    5. Robert Downey Jr. or Benedict Cumberbatch?
    Hmm… probably Robert Downey Jr. I have seen much more of his acting and feel I would be more comfortable with him taking me out to his yacht for a fishing trip. That’s what we’d be doing, right?
    6. If you could make a meme of yourself, what would you be doing and what would the caption be?
    I would imagine it would involve something with my large nose or propensity for puns.
    7. Have you ever been fired from a job (or walked out on one), and if yes, why?
    Once… kind of. In college I was a waiter/server at Chili’s and had given my two week’s notice. The one request I made to the management was to not tell anyone I was leaving (this actually happened around the same time of dropping out; a dark place indeed.) because I did not want any fuss. On my last shift I found out that the manager on duty was telling everyone I was leaving, but then telling them not to say anything. I thought this was pretty crappy of him so I left a note, piled up all the money from my tables, and walked out. This could also fall under the embarrassed area, though ashamed would be more fitting. “Why were you so childish Aaron?!”
    8. Are you at a place in your life where you feel like you’ve “found yourself”? Explain your answer.
    That’s a tough one – I feel like I am more calm, more secure, and more confident than I have ever been. I think much of that is accepting that I cannot change the choices I have already made (i.e. – I can no longer travel Europe playing in orchestras), and being happy with what I do have vs. what I don’t. I still want to be more, be better, and improve, but I have learned to be introspective and appreciate where I am for now. Have I found myself? I don’t think so, I’m still young (if 37 is considered young!). I look forward to finding the complete Aaron someday.
    9. How do you relate to your favourite book or movie protagonist?
    Probably not at all! That strikes me as funny. My current favorite book is The Name of the Wind by Patrick Rothfuss, with a man named Kvothe as the main character. He is bold and reckless, I am not. Side note: this is a fantasy book (not hubba-hubba sexy fantasy, more look out it’s a dragon fantasy), and I find that I am such a contradiction. I say I am confident and now I feel scared to tell people that I read fiction almost all the time. *Sigh*
    10. Do you play a musical instrument? If so, what is it and if not, how come?
    I play the main string instruments (violin, viola, cello, bass, but mainly cello), guitar and bass guitar, piano, and a smattering (meaning like basic scales) of others like trombone, saxophone, trumpet. I always thought oboe would be cool to learn. Or harmonica! Yes, I want to play harmonica with Nickleback.
    11. Here’s an interesting lyric from a random song I’m listening to: “Be yourself but in disguise”. Explain what this means to you.
    My initial reaction goes to the well-known idea of each of us wearing masks in different social situations. Everyone does it, I do not care who you think you are (not YOU you, I am talking to YOU! Yes you, in the back!). Each one of us acts differently in certain circumstances, but I think we should strive to minimize how different we are when faced with those changing environments. Learn to realize that you are who you are; be yourself when being formal; be yourself when lounging around; be yourself when on a date; be yourself when you are at work. Yes, you are going to act differently but try to lessen how “fake” you are.

    Sorry for hogging your comments area!

    • marypoppinz says:

      Wow, all those instruments, you could be your own orchestra! That’s amazing.

      The Neverending Story movie…I’m pretty sure I crushed on Atreyu, and I remember making up lyrics to the theme song because I couldn’t remember all the words. I’ve been wanting to go back and read the book again, (which is stupendously better than the movie btw) but it was so important to me as a kid, I’m a little afraid to.

      So, you and Robert Downey Jr, fishing on a yacht hey… Something tells me you haven’t seen Cumberbatch on the BBC’s “Sherlock”. Otherwise, you would never have chosen Downey for that “fishing trip”… 😉
      Seriously though, I was referring to who makes a better Sherlock in my question, I don’t know where YOUR mind was….

      Thanks for taking the time to answer all my silly questions, it was a good read 🙂

      PS. A deal’s a deal. Tags updated to include “Nickelback Luvr”. :/

Leave a Reply

