Safe Spaces and Creativity

*I don’t know why this post shows up all crazy and lopsided. You can view a corrected version here.*

Daily Prompt from “The Daily Post”:

Writing Space

Where do you produce your best writing — at your desk, on your phone, at a noisy café? Tell us how the environment affects your creativity.

I produce my best writing in safe spaces. I’ve come to realize over the years that I can only really be myself when I feel a sense of safety and so it follows that I can only be creative when I feel safe. And for me, feeling safe most often means being alone.

a dull boy

a dull boy

When writing, I want to feel absolutely free to engage my imagination anyway I please. This might mean things get a little weird. I’m not talking Jack Torrance weird, but you might hear screaming and howling and a little bit of cackling coming from my room from time to time. This is because when I’m not listening to eerie instrumentals or freaking the neighbours out with the musical score from The Blair Witch Project, I just might be listening to a Halloween sound effects album. True story. (At least that’s my cover story).

I am fully aware that this makes me a strange person–some might even say a weirdo–and I’m okay with this. Mostly. What I’m not okay with, is being overheard while talking to myself, in character. (Shh…she’s not crazy!) I don’t do this often, but sometimes, when the spirit moves me, I just gotta. And that’s where being alone comes in. I just can’t be my weird-method-writer-self when there’s people around. Or nearby, for that matter. I might get emotional writing a sad scene, I might laugh out loud at a funny scene, or pace the floor while muttering to myself like a not-so-sane person. These things are best done without company. In fact, I don’t think I’m capable of doing these things without complete solitude.

And that is why I produce my best writing in safe spaces.

“Safe space” ambiance

One thought on “Safe Spaces and Creativity

  1. […] strangelyrandomthoughtsSafe Spaces and Creativity […]

Leave a Reply

